Finally, a serious fiction workshop for writers not in college

I will be considering any Weird fiction produced in this workshop for publication on Shoggoth.net, THE repository for unsettling and downright spooky creepy fiction.

Friends and aspiring writers: You might be interested in a graduate-level-style fiction workshop taught by Yours Truly, just like the workshops I held at the University. It will run 13 weeks, and people would bring in a story for the class three times to be critiqued. You could do different stories or chapters from a WIP novel or novella.

This critique process, however, will be managed by myself as your “moderator” and guide. You will get the full experience of a weekly fiction seminar at the University level. When it is done, I will write a personalized letter for every participant that can be used for grad school admissions, general letter of recommendation, or just to look at and feel inspired.

shutterstock_24594724

Maybe on the ceiling.

Each workshop session will be 2 ½ hours on Wednesday nights from 9-11:30 pm ET (6-9:30 PT) for 13 weeks, starting June 10 and finishing September 16. There is a cap of 12 students and it costs just $130 including all materials. It will teach you not only how to write better, but perhaps even more importantly it will show you how to run a critique group of your own using established and effective techniques proven successful time after time.

If you don’t live in the Las Vegas area, you will ineract through video conferencing technology and Internet tools. If you are interested, please comment below or email me at hoadewriter@gmail.com and let me know your contact information.

This may be the only time you can take part in a graduate-level workshop for YOUR fiction! I’d like to start this summer, so please let me know if you want in as soon as you can.

shutterstock_166462547

Pro tip: Don’t use a typewriter that gives you backwards letters. But we’ll be using computers, so it should be cool.

9 thoughts on “Finally, a serious fiction workshop for writers not in college

      • Hi! It’s physically in Las Vegas, but we’re doing teleconferencing and online sharing tools for the majority of participants, since they’re all over the country. There are now 2 seats left, and we would love to have you!

    • Hello, Toni! I literally JUST sent you an email before I saw this. It takes place in Las Vegas, NV, but we’re doing videoconferencing and other Web tools to facilitate with the majority of attendees, who live elsewhere.

      The cost is $130 for 13 weeks and payment should be sent to my PayPal account, hoadewriter@gmail.com. Once you’re in, we’ll have a quorum and can hold the workshop!

      Thanks,
      Sean

      • Hi Sean – I would like to sign up for this! Paul Atreides sent me the link. It sounds fun! Let me know what my next steps are. Thank you!

      • Hello, Douglas! Sorry I’m just getting back to you — we took my visiting daughter to the Strip and WOW SO BEAT LOL. I will email you now with the details.

        Sean

Leave a Reply

