10 things you should never say to a writer

From the incomparable Chuck Wendig:

 Leonid_Pasternak_001

“YOU KNOW, I WANNA WRITE A BOOK SOMEDAY.”

They say this to you with this wistful gleam in their eye, as if writing is just a hobby, like it’s just some distant silliness that they’ll get to when they manage to win the lottery. A worse (the worst, even) version of this is: I have a book in me.

Your response: “I don’t come down to your job and tell you, ‘I wanna be a janitor someday.’ You have a book in you? Well, you better do what I did, which is take a long hard squat in front of a computer or a notebook and force that story out, because that’s the only way this thing gets written. I don’t just have one book in me. I have hundreds. I have thousands. I am large, I contain multitudes. Whole libraries where every book has my name on its spine, motherfucker. Don’t write a book someday, write a book today. That’s what I did.”

Then, drop the mic. Right on their foot …

Keep reading this article!

3 thoughts on “10 things you should never say to a writer

  1. Great share, Sean! Whenever someone discovers I’m a writer, I always, ALWAYS get the ““Where do you get your ideas?” question like clockwork. Seriously, it’s uncanny how it words. I can even predict it: “What have you written? Will I ever see it on TV? Where do your ideas come from?” And off to the races I go attempting to stem their curiosity with silly observations, “Nice tie, where did you get it?”

    • When I was a beginning writer — in that I wanted to be a writer, or at least “someone who had written,” I myself was the questioner of anyone who had written or published or worked in the publishing industry. It is silly and amusing, but I believe it’s a stage we all must go through on our way to being a writer of whom such things are asked.

Leave a Reply

