Will 2014 be the Year of Conventions?

Image

I certainly hope so. As you can see from the above, slightly doctored ad banner from the Salt Lake City Fan Xperience convention (held in April; the SLC Comic Con is in September), I will be attending, speaking, and hopefully selling books at this wonderful extravaganza. The 2013 Con was the biggest inaugural event EVAR for this kind of convention, so I have high hopes of meeting some awesome peeps there and expanding my buddy list with like-minded authors and other creative types. There is an announcement to go with this that I’m ALLLLLMOST allowed to make, so stay tuned.

In fact, I’d love to make 2014 the Year of Conventions. If I can make money at each Con I go to in 2014, I will then use that money to go to the next one, and so on. But all of this is based on the money existing. Anyway, SLCFX is not actually the first I’ve been invited to for the year — that honor goes to MegaCon in Orlando in March (and that invite was just to sell along with a pal I met at Walker Stalker back in November). I would LOVE to attend MegaCon and see my old friends down Florida way.

It’s not a Con as such, but the Las Vegas Clark County Library will be featuring (among many others) Yours Truly on Saturday, March 29 from 2:30-4:00 pm for their local author Spring Fling!

Also before Salt Lake City is Portland, Oregon from April 11-13 for the H.P. Lovecraft Film Festival and Cthulhucon! I squee just to think of this. I am going to be on a panel or two and obviously plugging my Lovecraftian Deadtown Abbey book.

What’s next after that? I’m glad that you asked. A certain publisher who must for now remain undisclosed has invited me to take part at their table at the giant Texas Frightmare from May 2-4. I want to go to this anyway (because … I can’t say yet), but I REALLY want to go so I can meet GEORGE FUCKING ROMERO. I will wait in line all day if I have to. I will do whatever degraded tasks are required of me just so I can say unto the Great One, “Himynameisseanomgiloveyoupleasesignmybellyishaveditspecial” and then pass out and be dragged off by security.

Right now the summer is not booked, so my plans are to hide in any shade possible while reminding myself to think of ice and snow while I hide from the 117-degree temps here in Las Vegas. But come September 5-7, it will be back to Salt Lake City for their official Comic Con, and then from September 26-28, it’s off to Los Angeles for their Lovecraft Film Festival and Cthulhucon.

But what of October, surely the most scary-ass month of all? There are Zombie Cons in New York, San Antonio, Portland, and in several other wonderful cities. Depending on money (as in all of these cases), I’d like to attend as many of those as will trade an artist’s table for presentations and panel participation.

On my wish list, but probably not happening this year unless the Golden Bird of Paradise lays a golden egg in my bank account, would definitely be the World Horror Convention in Portland in May. However, I have to hold some of my time in reserve to (a) remain married; and (b) get some, you know, WRITING done.

Of course, I’d LOVE to go to Comic Con in San Diego this year, but that would be a total splurge because their tables are like $1,400 each and OHMYGAWD no. But, if my brother-in-law can score me a ticket, I shall go and gawk like a civilian!

Are any of y’all planning to go to any conventions in 2014? If so, which ones and what are you planning to do while you’re there?

7 thoughts on “Will 2014 be the Year of Conventions?

  1. I see what you mean. WordPress is getting hinkier all the time. I don’t get notifications of comments from you, but I DO get ’em for other commenters! Stoopid And it didn’t offer me an option to reply to your comment, so here I am, starting all over again.

    I used to have a VCR of my chorus down here. I’ll see if I can find it. And somewhere I have a picture of my quartet back in VA, for whom I filled in as a tenor with only six weeks of rehearsal before competition. We took sixth in sound, which I thought was remarkable, under the circumstances.

  2. Hmm, I’ve never attending a Comic Con before and I’ve never been to SLC, so the SLC Comic Con may be something I’d like to attend this year. I can kill two birds with one stone and also enjoy the beautiful state of Utah during my visit. Thanks for the idea, Sean!

  3. If you don’t have a vendor’s table, are you allowed to sell anything? Some of the music conventions I’ve attended had a browsing room, kind of like a gift shop or store.

      • Ah, well, in another lifetime, I sang baritone in Sweet Adelines. It’s the women’s equivalent of SPEBSQSA, (Society for the Preservation and Encouragement of Barbershop Quartet Singing in America) the men’s international barbershop singing organization. I was pretty good, too. My friend Sara and I attended many of the men’s conventions all over the country, as well as participating in our share of women’s events, both regional and national. We went everywhere from Hershey, PA to San Francisco to Honolulu. I miss it, and her. Sadly, owing to continuing sinus problems, I can’t really sing much, anymore.

        The conventions were generally five days, starting with quarter-final events on Tuesday and culminating with finals and a winners show on Saturday. There were classes (and the stores!) all during the week, as well as outside events for anyone who wanted to pick and choose which events to attend. We particularly liked Ocean City, MD, because the con center was right by the beach. The men held a lot of their regionals in OC, and I was living in VA at the time. Folks thought Sara and I were “an item” because we were always there together. Little did they know! We were actually groupies! We had great fun and heard fabulous music.

        ComicCon sounds like a blast. Too far away, though, for certain parties who don’t fly…

      • Bunny, I think I’m replying to your post, but it won’t let me do it directly, so this might be a reply to my own reply. (Sigh — get it together, WordPress!) Anyway, how intensely neat is this? So any videos exist of you and the gang? I LOVE barbershop quartet music!
        I wish Hizzoner would stop his boycott of airplanes, but I respect his decision. but still, BOO!

Leave a Reply

