My first “ad” for Deadtown Abbey

I bid you good day, gentlemen and gentlewomen. As you no doubt know, I am headed for the great city of Atlanta for Walker Stalker Con, the new zombie convention from the Walking Dead folks. I’m debuting my new awesome zombie book, Deadtown Abbey, at the Con. You’ll remember that Reviva Las Vegas! is coming in 2014, and at the Con is going to be the new zombie novel and the book of my zombie lectures. TWO BOOKS! MADNESS!

Anyway, I made the following ad to go on the Walker Stalker Con:

20130910-204734.jpg

They needed a logo to go on their website that was 300×250 pixels, something that would link back to my website. So I decided “Why not do an ad especially for the new novel?” I thought it was a good idea since I have purchased www.DeadtownAbbey.com to put it to work! (The site won’t be up until September 12, so hold off on clicking that there link.) On the book’s website, I will have the first chapter, ordering information, and other related goodies.

I was a bit concerned about using some copyrighted photos, but I figured that they’ve been so changed to zombification and fire and such that I think I’m safe. I tried several fancypants fonts, but they were too intricate for the size of the ad, so I went with the “scary” Chiller fonts for the main text, and the readable-yet-slighty-fancy Monotype Corsiva for the scroll. I also ran Lord Grantham’s face through the awesome Zombieland Zombify Me! app. (It requires Flash, so tough for all of us iPad users, but no bitterness! Moving on!)

Your thoughts are most welcome, as always.

11 thoughts on “My first “ad” for Deadtown Abbey

  1. ONE person, the FIRST person to try it, could get away with the blank canvas thing. (Same with Cage’s shtick with the silent song.) What do you mean by “pretension”? I think you were referring to the commenters on the art, not the artists, right? The artists are making the viewer (and folks like us, discussing it years later) what is meant by a “song”? There is a Cage song that he says in the notes on the sheet music “should be played as slowly as possible.” What does it mean when a composer gives this kind of instruction (as many composers do, things like “play with a light feeling” and such)? There is an organ in Germany that started playing this song in 2001 and will play it over the next 639 years, ending in 2640. This is an amusing take on the literal instruction, but how is this interpretation any different from any other? What does “as slowly as possible” mean? I feel that much postmodern visual art (and music, and fiction…) isolates certain aspects of both the creative and the interpretive act.

    So what visual art should be “taken seriously, reviewed, appraised”? Purely representational art? Perhaps art that is already like what’s already been taken seriously, reviewed, and appraised? Then what would the job of the artist be, exactly, that would make him or her different from a hack turning out copies of copies of copies? Whatever your answer may be, it is this kind of “nonsense” art that makes the viewer or critic realize that there are even questions to be asked about what we had always taken for granted as “decided.”

    Thoughts?

  2. Yeah, but is it ART??? If I could do it, I don’t have a great deal of respect for it. His audiences have been duped while he laughed an laughed. And probably made excellent money, too. It’s another pet rock, if you ask me. Which you didn’t, but nevermind.

    • If art gets people thinking about what “art” is — and Cage’s stunts definitely did that — then Cage was a master artist. Why should we hold some things as “art” but not others, if not based on the artist’s intention? You and I say that we could have done what Cage did with 4’33”, but is that true? Could we have gotten past “That’s a dumb idea” and gone ahead and released such a “song”? I don’t think we could. Cage could and did — therefore he’s the one who could have done it, him and not us.

      Interesting, eh?

      Hoade

      Sent from my iPad

      • Interesting that two of my replies, upon which you commented, so I know I’m not dreaming, do not show up in this comment thread.

      • Yeah, I was doing this on my iPad, and I’d write the whole long reply, and then it wouldn’t let me post it as a reply to your reply, so I had to go back to the original post and comment on that. Sorry for the confusion!

    • Obviously, art is in the eye of the beholder. At least your product takes some thought, some talent, some actual, I dunno, effort, I guess, for want of a better term. Stare at a camera for 30 minutes? Gimme a break! Kinda puts me in mind of John Cage. To each his own. Be interesting to see if he can raise $15K for that silliness. Ya never know.

      FWIW, I’m likin’ the beard! (Hizzoner showed me the FB photo.)

Leave a Reply

